The Augustovsky Canal
A focus of attention is an interesting history of the Augustovsky canal creation. It is a unique hydrotechnical construction of the XIX century. The total length of the canal is more than 101 km, of which about 22 km is located on the territory of Belarus. The canal is located in a UNESCO protected area and includes a number of locks and drawbridges.
The Augustovsky canal is closely connected with the history of the entire Grodno region. The small village of Svyatsk is famous for a Palace similar to the French Versailles. This place is associated with the legend of a lonely ghost who has been living in an empty palace for many years. The tour passes through Sopotskin – an urban settlement where the monumental Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, built in 1612, is located. The culmination of the tour comes with a visit to the locks of the Augustovsky canal in the villages of Dombrovka and Nemnovo.
At the request of the group, it is possible to organize a picnic and boat trips along the Augustovsky canal.
Regional tourism centre
Grodno, 22 Ozheshko str.
+ 375 (152) 77 37 85
+ 375 (152) 77 37 86
+ 375 (29) 869 06 02